Empty Nest

I don’t want it but I’m ready.

I don’t want it but I’m ready.

I am now entering the peri-empty nester phase of my life.  I’m still a mother but in a very different way.

As they learn to find their way in this world out from under my wing I am learning how to find my own new way.  The many subtle changes start to creep up and before you know it you’re crying into your glass of wine and you don’t know why.  To be fair, I’m also entering the peri-menopausal phase of my life so those emotions could be coming from another place.

The ups and downs can feel so extreme that you start to question if you know what you’re doing, if you’ve ever known what you were doing and if you’ll know what you’re going to do.

As they spend less and less time at home the ups and downs are not as extreme.

I don’t want them to not need me.  I don’t want them to leave.  I don’t want to be irrelevant.  I don’t want to be alone…but I’m ready.

I’m ready to start this new phase of my life.

 

Author: Shelly Stone

Lover of life. Hungry for knowledge.

Leave a comment